Dominic Free: Back In The Game Kilmacolm Kermesse, 3 May 2014: Start List
Apr 272014

Robert Robertson and Paul McSkimming rode strongly to take third and fourth place at today’s Straiton Struggle Road Race, held in Ayrshire.

The two ‘Road Club riders worked hard to peg back eventual winner Kenny Armstrong (Ayr Roads) but could not make up the half minute gap that was created and maintained on the final climb to the finish line.

Paul (l) and Robert (r), 3rd and 4th placed riders

Paul (l) and Robert (r), 3rd and 4th placed riders

Robert reflected on his performance:

“Paul was whispering words of encouragement in my ear and I rode as hard as possible to get away and bridge the gap to Kenny Armstrong.”

Paul was pleased with his 4th place:

“We did what we could but had to settle for leading the rest of the pack across the line”.

Full result:

1 5 Kenneth Armstrong Ayr Roads Cycling Club 3rd 01:57:00
2 66 Greg Templeton Ayr Roads Cycling Club 3rd 19s
3 57 Robert Robertson Glasgow Road Club 3rd 35s
4 50 Paul McSkimming Glasgow Road Club 3rd st

5 72 Peter Wakely Edinburgh RC 3rd st
6 73 Grant Walker Walkers Cycling Club 4th st
7 16 Alan Dean Edinburgh RC 4th st
8 6 Robin Atkinson Shetland Wheelers 3rd st
9 60 Callum Sharp Kinross CC 4th st
10 51 Robert Nicholson Classic Racing Team 3rd st
11 70 Wilco Van Wijgerden 3rd st
12 9 Drew Clark Wallacehill CC st
13 48 Alan McMillan Fullarton Wheelers st
14 27 John Grant Moray Firth Cycling Club 4th st
15 35 Alan Lamont Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique 3rd st
16 59 Tony Scott Loudoun RC 4th st
17 69 William Turner Falkirk Bicycle Club 4th st
18 25 Callum Gough Onimpex Bio Racer RT 3rd st
19 56 Michael Robb Ayr Roads Cycling Club 4th st
20 42 Alan Maxwell Pedal Power RT 4th st
21 20 John Dunlop Loudoun RC st
22 21 Malcolm Dunlop Velo Club Edinburgh 3rd st
23 61 Joseph Shaw Falkirk Bicycle Club 4th st
24 11 Stephen Couper Glasgow United CC 3rd 1m 1s
25 76 John Woodrow Sandy Wallace Cycles 4th 1m 9s
26 8 Kevin Brown Ayr Roads Cycling Club 4th 1m 25s
27 33 Craig Kidd 3rd st
28 17 Sean Delaney Deeside Thistle CC 4th st
29 65 Ross Strachan Loudoun RC 4th st
30 52 Gabriella Nordin Pedal Power RT 2nd st
31 74 Paul Wilson Walkers Cycling Club 4th 2m 54s
32 23 Blair Gibb 3rd 3m
33 75 Andrew Wilson Falkirk Bicycle Club 3rd st
34 58 Jack Savage Glasgow Ivy CC 4th 3m 33s
35 22 Cameron Fisher Glasgow Nightingale CC 3rd 4m 17s
36 24 Jonathan Goldstraw Stewartry Wheelers 4th 6m 5s
37 54 Franco Porco Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique 3rd 6m 30s
38 32 Gordon Jackson Hawick CC 4th
39 29 Michael Hanley Lomond Roads CC 4th
40 7 Austen Bodie Aberdeen Wheelers CC 4th
41 30 Craig Hardy Falkirk Bicycle Club 4th
42 41 Iain Martin Glasgow Green Cycle Club
43 36 David Lang Glasgow Whls 3rd
44 1 Conan Abel Aberdeen Wheelers CC 4th
45 45 Katelyn McGeever Royal Albert CC 4th
46 62 Emma Smith Royal Albert CC 4th

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.